Hillsborough County

Founded: 1834
Population: 1,147,140 (2005 est.)
Area: 1,072 sq. miles

  • Named after Wills Hill, a British politician who served as a Secretary of State for the Colonies in 1768-1772, a critical period leading toward the American Revolution.
  • Incorporated cities are Tampa, Temple Terrace, and Plant City. Tampa is the largest city and serves as the county seat.
  • Unincorporated area covers 909 sq. miles or over 84% of total – an unusually high percentage for a county of this size. “Unincorporated” in law is a region of land that is not a part of any municipality. To “incorporate” in this context means to form a municipal corporation, i.e., a city or town with its own government. An unincorporated community is usually not subject to or taxed by a city government. Such regions are generally administered by default as a part of larger territorial divisions such as county.

Unincorporated places include

  • Apollo Beach
  • Balm
  • Bloomingdale
  • Boyette Springs
  • Brandon
  • Carrollwood
  • Carrollwood Village
  • Citrus Park
  • Coronet
  • Del Rio
  • Dover
  • Durant
  • East Lake-Orient Park
  • Egypt Lake
  • Fort Lonesome
  • Gibsonton
  • Greater Northdale
  • Keysville
  • Knights
  • Lake Fern
  • Lake Magdalene
  • Lithia
  • Lutz
  • MacDill AFB
  • Mango
  • Palm River-Clair Mel
  • Picnic
  • Riverview
  • Ruskin
  • Seffner
  • Sun City
  • Sun City Center
  • Sydney
  • Thonotosassa
  • Town n’ Country
  • University West
  • Valrico
  • West Park
  • Wimauma
  • Ybor City

Government Websites

Hillsborough County Website
Hillsborough County Property Appraiser
Hillsborough County Tax Collector

was last modified: November 21st, 2015 by Lance Mohr